• EN
  • IT
  • The Via Francigena

    Unesco nomination in 2017

    The Via Francigena, named as it comes from the kingdom of the Franks, winds through villages, waterways and rice fields, and presents itself in the territory as a journey of suggestions of time to travel and discover. Born from the need of the Lombards to connect Pavia, the capital of the Northern Kingdom, to the duchies of southern Italy, it became the main connection between the north and south of Europe when the Franks defeated the Lombards. The Pavia stretch, 126.7 km long, is one of the most spectacular stages of the journey and includes the municipalities of Palestro, Robbio, Nicorvo, Mortara, Tromello, Garlasco, Gropello Cairoli, Carbonara al Ticino, San Martino Siccomario, Pavia, Salimbene Valley, Linarolo, Belgioioso, Corteolona, Santa Cristina and Bissone, Chignolo Po.

    Pavia, a thousand-year-old city in the heart of the Po Valley, surprises with the richness of its artistic heritage, is witness to the ancient history of this place, once called Ticinum.

    The Pavese, Lomellina and Oltrepò make this province a territory characterized by ancient castles, fortresses, suggestive villages and Romanesque churches which testify how the territory was a crossroads of religious paths. There is no shortage of typical excellent food and wine products and unforgettable enchanting landscapes.


    How to

    get there

    Milan Linate Airport

    Milan Malpensa Airport

    Bergamo Orio al Serio Airport

    A7 Milan – Genoa highway

    A21 Turin – Piacenza highway







    from CamCom

    +39 0835 338408 – 41 – 42



    The Mirabilia Network Association aims to promote the territories and paths in the UNESCO World Heritage sites supported by the Chambers of Commerce of:

    Pubblicazione ai sensi del terzo comma dell'art.2501-ter del Codice civile del Progetto di trasformazione e fusione dell'Associazione Mirabilia Network in Isnart Scpa